From Home to Harpers Ferry (and Antietam) by Bicycle

My friend and former writer for the Smithsonian, David, writes a great blog about his biking and other adventures. Here’s a recent post he wrote about a bike trip to one of my favorite history places, Harpers Ferry, West Virginia. Be sure to check out some of his other posts.

Bike Walk Drive

I have taken many long-distance cycling trips since I became interested in bicycle travel. But I hadn’t done the one thing I’d really wanted to do all along: roll my bicycle out of my back yard in Bethesda, Maryland, and bike to somewhere far away.

I live close to the C&O Canal National Historical Park, so the canal towpath is a perfect option for a cycling excursion from home. I visit the towpath often to walk or bike, and I’ve bicycled its entire length twice. I’ve always thought a trip from home to Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, via the towpath, with a side trip from Harpers Ferry to Antietam National Battlefield near Sharpsburg, Maryland, would make a perfect three-day bicycling trip.

During a stretch of unseasonably warm weather this past October, I finally ran out of reasons to put off this trip. I made a two-night reservation at a bed and breakfast…

View original post 277 more words

Gallery | This entry was posted in 19th century, city/town, Civil War, national park and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From Home to Harpers Ferry (and Antietam) by Bicycle

  1. Tim – is that a paved or gravel path?

    From: historyplaces To: jrrattliff@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, November 11, 2016 12:09 PM Subject: [New post] From Home to Harpers Ferry (and Antietam) by Bicycle #yiv5109543347 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5109543347 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5109543347 a.yiv5109543347primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5109543347 a.yiv5109543347primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5109543347 a.yiv5109543347primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5109543347 a.yiv5109543347primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5109543347 WordPress.com | Tim posted: “My friend and former writer for the Smithsonian, David, writes a great blog about his biking and other adventures. Here’s a recent post he wrote about a bike trip to one of my favorite history places, Harpers Ferry, West Virginia. Be sure to check out som” | |

    • Samantha Theriault says:

      C&O canal towpath is gravel. An alternative would be the Washington & Old Dominion, which is paved and goes all the way up to Purcellville – that will get you most of the way there. It is a historic railroad trail, and has many stops of interest (and a few exhibit panels) along the way.

Have you visited this place? Share your experience.

